A Note to Southwest Students and Faculty
This page contains links to all the course reserve titles the Harrison Library can offer as ebooks this spring. Note that we have included information about our licensing agreement (how many users can access the ebook at once.) The library can't provide access to all assigned texts electronically because not all of the assigned texts are available for libraries to purchase electronically. In those cases, we will continue to provide access to one print copy for a 4 hour check out period. If you have a question about a specific text, please email us at library@ssw.edu.
Manual & Style guide quick links
- APA Style
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, precise, and inclusive manner. APA Style covers the aspects of scholarly writing most pertinent to writing in psychology, nursing, business, communications, engineering, and related fields. It specifically addresses the preparation of draft manuscripts being submitted for publication in a journal and the preparation of student papers being submitted for a course assignment.
- Chicago Manual of Style
Now in its 17th edition, The Chicago Manual of Style—with more than a thousand pages in print or more than two thousand hyperlinked paragraphs online—has become the authoritative reference work for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers. This hundred-plus-year evolution has taken place under the ongoing stewardship of Chicago’s renowned editorial staff, aided by suggestions and requests from the Manual’s many readers.
- MLA Style
The MLA Style Center is the only authorized Web site on MLA style. A companion to the MLA Handbook, the site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA format template, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users. Additional teaching resources are in development.
- SBL Handbook of Style
Founded in 1880, the Society of Biblical Literature is the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible from a variety of academic disciplines. SBL is also the largest international association of scholars who teach and research the variety of fields that make up biblical studies. It is an interdisciplinary, humanistic, academic society that includes scholars of history, literature, archaeology, anthropology, theology, and more.
This link will connect you to the ebook of the SBL manual of style. For more information go to their website - https://www.sbl-site.org
- Turabian: a manual for writers
Kate Larimore Turabian (1893–1987) was the graduate school dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago for nearly three decades, from 1930 to 1958. In 1930 she became the university’s dissertation secretary, a newly created position in which every accepted doctoral thesis had to cross her desk. It was there in 1937 that she wrote a small pamphlet describing the university’s required style for writing college dissertations. That pamphlet eventually became A Manual for Writers and has gone on to sell more than nine million copies in nine editions.
A1220 - Jennings
God's Resistance: Mobilizing Faith to Defend Immigrants by ISBN: 9781479816415Publication Date: 2023-11-21Unlimited User Access
Irrevocable: The Name of God and the Unity of the Christian Bible by ISBN: 9781506481197Publication Date: 2022-10-04Unlimited User Access
Leading a Multicultural Church by ISBN: 9780281075041Publication Date: 2016-09-15Multiple Copies Available
Preaching the Headlines: Possibilities and Pitfalls by ISBN: 9781506453866Publication Date: 2021-08-31Unlimited User Access
A Spirituality of Fundraising by ISBN: 9780835810449Publication Date: 2011-02-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Virtue Hoarders: The Case Against the Professional Managerial Class by ISBN: 9781517912253Publication Date: 2021-01-26Unlimited User Access
A Womanist Theology of Worship: Liturgy, Justice, and Communal Righteousness by ISBN: 9781626984448Publication Date: 2021-11-17Unlimited User Access
B1220 Weems
Ancient Echoes: Refusing the Fear-Filled, Greed-Driven Toxicity of the Far Right by ISBN: 9781506494968Publication Date: 2023-05-16Unlimited User Access
Israel's Poetry of Resistance by ISBN: 9781451426281Publication Date: 2013-08-01Unlimited User Access
Misreading Scripture with Western Eyes by ISBN: 9780830863471Publication Date: 2012-07-31Multiple Copies Available
Old Testament Prophets for Today by ISBN: 9780664231781Publication Date: 2009-03-13Unlimited User Access
The Oxford Handbook of the Minor Prophets by ISBN: 9780190673208Publication Date: 2021-02-05Unlimited User Access
Postcolonial Preaching: Creating a Ripple Effect by ISBN: 9781793617095Publication Date: 2021-02-11Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Unmasking White Preaching: Racial Hegemony, Resistance, and Possibilities in Homiletics by ISBN: 9781793652997Publication Date: 2022-04-06Unlimited User Access
Where Have All the Prophets Gone? by ISBN: 9780829817201Publication Date: 2006-10-01Multiple Copies Available
- A Spirituality of Fundraising by ISBN: 9780835810449Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
B1240 - Park
New Perspectives on the Nativity by ISBN: 9780567312006Publication Date: 2009-11-01Unlimited User Access
The Gospels and Acts: Fortress Commentary on the Bible by ISBN: 9781506415895Publication Date: 2016-09-01Unlimited User Access
PART 1 of the Fortress Commentary on the Bible
The Letters and Legacy of Paul: Fortress Commentary on the Bible by ISBN: 9781506415925Publication Date: 2016-09-01Unlimited User Access
PART 2 of the Fortress Commentary on the Bible
Hebrews, the General Epistles, and Revelation: Fortress Commentary on the Bible by ISBN: 9781506415949Publication Date: 2016-09-01Unlimited User Access
PART 3 of the Fortress Commentary on the Bible
CMH5305 - Laird
The Myth of Normal: Trauma, Illness, and Healing in a Toxic Culture by ISBN: 9780593083888Publication Date: 2022-09-13Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
A Therapist's Guide to Child Development by ISBN: 9781315737959Publication Date: 2015-10-14Coming Soon
Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan by ISBN: 9781118984741Publication Date: 2016-02-10Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
CMH5306 - Johnson
The Enneagram for Black Liberation: Return to Who You Are Beneath the Armor You Carry by ISBN: 9781506478968Publication Date: 2022-03-29Unlimited User Access
Let Your Life Speak : Listening for the Voice of Vocation by ISBN: 9780787947354Publication Date: 1999-09-24Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Career Development and Counseling by ISBN: 9781119580324Publication Date: 2020-11-03Unlimited User Access
Career Development and Counseling: Theory and Practice in a Multicultural World by ISBN: 9781452230863Publication Date: 2018-10-05Unlimited User Access
CMH5308 - Reyna
This Here Flesh: Spirituality, Liberation, and the Stories That Make Us by ISBN: 9780593239773Publication Date: 2022-02-22Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Multicultural Issues in Counseling: New Approaches to Diversity by ISBN: 9781119535171Publication Date: 2018-08-24Multiple Copies Available
The Racial Healing Handbook: Practical Activities to Help You Challenge Privilege, Confront Systemic Racism, and Engage in Collective Healing by ISBN: 9781684032709Publication Date: 2019-08-01Multiple Copies Available
CMH5323 - Jangha
Integrating Spirituality and Religion Into Counseling : A Guide to Competent Practice by ISBN: 9781119684619Publication Date: 2020Unlimited User Access
CMH5328 - Johnson
Handbook for Human Sexuality Counseling: A Sex Positive Approach by ISBN: 9781119904120Publication Date: 2022-09-20Multiple Copies Available
CMH5330 - Baker/St. David
The Brain and the Spirit: Unlocking the Transformative Potential of the Story of Christ by ISBN: 9781725275089Publication Date: 2021-10-29Unlimited User Access
How Did We Survive? African-American Women and the Trauma Within by ISBN: 9798891134171Publication Date: 2024-01-18Unlimited User Access
Out of Many Faiths: Religious Diversity and the American Promise by ISBN: 9780691196961Publication Date: 2019-08-27Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
F3330 Robinson
Models and Methods for Youth and Young Adult Ministry: Ecumenical Examples and Pastoral Approaches for the Christian Church by ISBN: 9781532630194Publication Date: 2018-05-25Unlimited User Access
Youth Beyond the Developmental Lens: Being over Becoming by ISBN: 9781506494944Publication Date: 2024-01-23Date Added: 02/02/2024
F5344 - Colombo
The Secret Life of Pronouns: What Our Words Say about Us by ISBN: 9781608194964Publication Date: 2013-01-15Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Writing to Wake the Soul: Opening the Sacred Conversation Within by ISBN: 9781476706610Publication Date: 2013-11-05Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
H4201 - King
Mission, Race, and Empire : The Episcopal Church in Global Context by ISBN: 9780197598948Publication Date: 2023-08-04Unlimited User Access
The Oxford Handbook of Anglican Studies by ISBN: 9780198783022Publication Date: 2018-05-29Unlimited User Access
L2340 - Jennings
Behold What You Are: Becoming the Body of Christ by ISBN: 1640653236Publication Date: 2021-04-16Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Blue Collar Resistance and the Politics of Jesus by ISBN: 9780687335022Publication Date: 2006-09-01Unlimited Users
The Book of Occasional Services 2003 Edition by ISBN: 9780898694093Publication Date: 2000-01-01Multiple Copies Available
Enriching Our Worship 1: Morning and Evening Prayer, The Great Litany, and The Holy EucharistISBN: 9780898697124Publication Date: 1998-03-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Enriching Our Worship 2: Ministry with the Sick or Dying: Burial of a ChildISBN: 9780898697247Publication Date: 2000-01-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Enriching Our Worship 3: Burial Rites for Adults, together with a Rite for the Burial of a ChildISBN: 9780898698015Publication Date: 2007-02-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Enriching Our Worship 5: Liturgies and Prayers Related to Childbearing, Childbirth, and LossISBN: 9780898698404Publication Date: 2010-01-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
A House of Meanings: Christian Worship in Plain Language by ISBN: 1640651403Publication Date: 2020-01-17Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Intercession : A Theological and Practical Guide by ISBN: 9781561011155Publication Date: 1995-01-25Unlimited User Access
Mujerista Theology: A Theology for the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9781570750816Publication Date: 1996-09-01Unlimited User Access
The Prayer Book Through the Ages by ISBN: 9780819215093Publication Date: 1997-05-01Multiple Copies Available
Praying Shapes Believing by ISBN: 9781596272736Publication Date: 2016-08-01Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."- Virtue Hoarders: The Case Against the Professional Managerial Class by ISBN: 9781517912253Publication Date: 2021-01-26
Unlimited User Access
- A Womanist Theology of Worship: Liturgy, Justice, and Communal Righteousness by ISBN: 9781626984448Publication Date: 2021-11-17
Multiple Copies Available
L3310 - Kittredge
- The Book of Occasional Services 2003 Edition by ISBN: 9780898694093Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Multiple Copies Available
Conversations with Scripture : the Gospel of John by ISBN: 9780819222497Publication Date: 2007-09-01Unlimited User Access
Deacons in the Liturgy (2nd Ed.) by ISBN: 9780898696349Publication Date: 2009-06-01Multiple Copies Available
Elements of Rite: A Handbook of Liturgical Style by ISBN: 9780814660546Publication Date: 1990-01-01Multiple Copies Available
- Enriching Our Worship 1: Morning and Evening Prayer, The Great Litany, and The Holy EucharistISBN: 9780898697124Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return." - Enriching Our Worship 2: Ministry with the Sick or Dying: Burial of a ChildISBN: 9780898697247Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return." - Enriching Our Worship 3: Burial Rites for Adults, together with a Rite for the Burial of a ChildISBN: 9780898698015Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return." - Enriching Our Worship 5: Liturgies and Prayers Related to Childbearing, Childbirth, and LossISBN: 9780898698404Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return." 
Liturgical Sense: The Logic of Rite by ISBN: 9781596272439Publication Date: 2013-04-01Multiple Copies Available
A Priest's Handbook: The Ceremonies of the Church, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780819217684Publication Date: 1998-12-01Multiple Copies Available
P3320 - Hawley
Friedman's Fables by ISBN: 9781462511495Publication Date: 2013-02-19Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
How to Hit the Ground Running: A Quick Start Guide for Congregations with New Leadership by ISBN: 9780898694758Publication Date: 2005-04-01Multiple Copies Available
PM1220 Frausto
Becoming REAL and Thriving in Ministry by ISBN: 9781640652484Publication Date: 2020-05-18Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This Overdrive ebook checks out for 7 days. Please read from it and return the book so others can use it. To return a book, go to your Overdrive Loans, find the book, and click on "return."
Claiming Resurrection in the Dying Church: Freedom Beyond Survival by ISBN: 9781611646566Publication Date: 2015-03-18Unlimited User Access
Radical Welcome: Embracing God, The Other, and the Spirit of Transformation by ISBN: 9781640654686Publication Date: 2021-11-16Multiple Copies Available
PR1210 - Robinson
Introduction to Preaching: Scripture, Theology, and Sermon Preparation by ISBN: 9781538138595Publication Date: 2023-02-03Multiple Copies
TE2320 - Bader-Saye
The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion by ISBN: 9780307455772Publication Date: 2013-02-12Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
