Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seeker: Understanding Widgets: PubMed Central

PubMed Central

About

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.

Today, PMC contains more than 5 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). Content is added to the archive through journal and publisher deposits, author manuscript deposits, and digitization projects. The resulting collaborations with publishers, societies, research funders, and international organizations form the foundation of PMC.

PubMed Central is a great way to expand your search into scholarly articles not indexed in Seeker.

Using PubMed Central

  • Begin a search in Seeker.
  • PubMed Central is automatically populated with your search terms.
  • If you do not see what you are looking for in Seeker, Click on the PubMed Central logo in the right-hand column.
  • Your results will include a list of article titles related to your search.
  • Though some may be citations and abstracts, the majority will be full-text articles.