Instructional - E-nnouncement: 9/16/2022

Oxford Handbooks are ebook sets written by leading scholars in their field of study. Harrison Library has collected several years of these handbooks and is elated to add this set to our collection. In it you will find the following titles:

• The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics
• The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Ritual
• The Oxford Handbook of Ecclesiology
• The Oxford Handbook of Johannine Studies
• The Oxford Handbook of John Henry Newman
• The Oxford Handbook of Religion and American Education
• The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History
• The Oxford Handbook of the Writings of the Hebrew Bible

The Oxford Handbook of Johannine Studies

This book is to be used by Dr. Parks in B2310, Biblical Studies: History and Hermeneutics III this fall, a course she co-teaches with Old Testament professor, Dr. Steve Bishop.

The book is written by some of the leading specialists in Johannine studies. It looks at the literary sources, historical origins, backgrounds of Greek and Jewish thought, and its relationship to the Gnostics. It also delves into sociological perspectives, symbolism, dualism, eschatology, and gender-related ideology, as well as the purpose of Jesus, eternal life, and the Spirit.

Click here for access

1) Using the Publication Finder tab, enter the title, then click Search.

2) Once this window opens, click on the Oxford Handbook resource under Full Text Access.

3) You will be taken to the Oxford Handbook site where the ebook access is provided. Scroll down to choose a chapter.

Want to take notes as you read? Be sure and check out the Oxford Handbook-Annotations libguide that demonstrates how to do this!

The Oxford Handbook

• “The Loeb Library…remains to this day the Anglophone world’s most readily accessible collection of classical masterpieces… Now, with their digitization, [the translations] have crossed yet another frontier.”—Wall Street Journal
• “The digital Loeb Classical Library will be a transformative experience for professionals doing research and provide everyone else with a wonderful buffet of reading to browse.”—Weekly Standard

Mango Languages

Mango Languages is an easy way to learn languages online. Mango Languages is a well developed system, calling on the necessities of language learning to aid you in your quest to become a fluent speaker. With Mango, you’ll learn vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture all in one integrated experience. There’s a lot under the hood, but it’s deliciously simple on the surface.

Log in and learn. Creating a personal account allows you to track your progress. If you don't have a personal account, sign up for one today.

• E-nnouncement 2023-2024
• 5/19/2023 - Alexander Street Videos
• 5/5/2023 - Libby App
• 2/24//2023 - TexShare Databases
• 2/10//2023 - Religion and the Arts
• 11/18/2022 - RitePlanning
• 10/14/2022 - Fortress Commentary on the Bible Study Edition
• 9/30/2022 - Loeb Classical Library
• 9/16/2022 - 2018 Oxford Handbooks
• 9/2/2022 - PsycTests